Why Satan never wins, but will always try to

This is the third year in a row that I have gotten sick in Kenya. I really wish Satan would just get off my back already. I love Kenya. I love what Jesus has me doing here and no sickness will ever stop me…but still, he tries.
This year was very different than last year or the year before. Both of those times I was being lead or taken care of by someone else. This time, I’m leading the trip and all three of us got sick. Horrible sick from food poisoning. So sick that me and Jordyn got hooked up to a nice IV at the hospital. Thank goodness for our incredible driver and friend, Kris. He truly saved us!
Anyways, y’all get it. We were sick. And it sucked. We’ve been resting all day today and it’s given me a lot of time to think about what Jesus is doing.
Being sick sucks. It always sucks. But it’s never the worst thing in the world. We’re not being tortured or persecuted by others. We are being hurt by Satan. For some reason, he thinks he can overpower the glory of our God by sickness. And in some small moments, maybe we almost let him. Because being sick far away from your family is hard and sometimes you just want a hug from a familiar face.
But in these moments of weakness, we are reminded that He is better, He is stronger, and He is our provider. At the end of the day, regardless of any country that we are in, Jesus should be our all. Not anyone else. Jesus should be our provider and our sustainer.
And when our levels of comfort are completely stripped away, we are beautifully reminded of that truth. We are reminded of our deep need for Jesus and how He fills our heart. How he satisfies our every need and how we find our comfort in his wings.
Satan will always try to find a way to make you doubt Jesus. Whenever I’m sick, a part of me wants to doubt God’s will for my life and specifically that life in Kenya. He also tries to make us doubt Jesus. Maybe doubt His goodness or His truth.
Satan fails always.
He doesn’t realize that what He’s doing in this sickness is actually bringing us closer with our Jesus.
So I guess he can keep trying but he will always lose.
Our God is greater.
“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”
2 Corinthians 12:9-11
Peaceful and hopeful,
Crissy
One thought on “Why Satan never wins, but will always try to

  1. Praying for you Crissy. I am so sorry all of you were sick. Sending you a virtual hug!! Jer.:29:11, God has plans for you. G’Ma loves you.

Leave a Reply

