Aside

Finding the good.

Last year I posted this blog about how much I loved 2012 and how excited I was for 2013. I think that made a difference in why my 2013 was so spectacular. So often we focus on the bad of the year that we are leaving behind hoping to find something better in the next year. We put so much pressure and if one thing goes wrong, that year is done for.

Well I think that there is something to be said about celebrating your past and looking forward with excitement to the future. So here are the top 10 best moments of my year. For some reason, Jesus has given me more grace than I could ever begin to deserve because yall, I suck. And He rocks.

10 – That time when I got to stand beside both of my best friends on the biggest day of their lives. They were also the most beautiful brides ever, so there’s that. 

ImageImage

9 – That time where I went to California for the first time in my whole life and maybe should have never left. So much beauty! Serious props to Kaila Debesse and her incredible family for making this trip happen. 

Image

8 – That time where I lost 30 pounds and haven’t felt better in my whole life! Thanks to my amazing and also killer trainer, Emily Hayden for this.

Image 7 -That time where I lead my first trip to Kenya and spent two weeks with two of my most incredible friends. 

Image

Image

Image

 6 – That time where God made my dream of doing makeup a reality. I’ve worked on just about 50 people and I only started really doing makeup as a pro in July. He is so faithful! 

Image5 – That time where we started raising money for a rehab center in Kenya. While this was my Kenyan dad’s dream and he also happened to pass away this year, I am so thankful for what He has started. Something that was started this year will continue on for generations.

Image

Image

4 – Not one moment but that time where I am truly surrounded by the greatest and truest friends any person could ever dream to have. New friends & old, all of you have made my life more wonderful than I could hope. Thanks for loving me so well.

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

 FRIENDS4

Image

 3 – That time where my sister and I became best friends again. Long story short, I was a brat and through college we haven’t always been close. Now I see her everyday (she’s my boss) and our relationship is hilarious, sassy, and so precious. I adore everything about who she chooses to be and who she is in my life. 

Image

2 – That time where I graduated from the best university in the world. So proud to be a Fightin’ Texas Aggie alum! (Insert cheesy grad picture here).

Image

1 – That time where Jesus taught me so much. I have been high and low and He has seen it all. I’ve learned how much I suck because I tried to be perfect (and failed) and I’ve learned that no matter what, He’s got me. I’ve learned how deep my sin goes and I’ve learned that Jesus’ love goes deeper. He’s good and He is taking care of me, and you. I’ve learned that His goodness is everywhere, you just gotta look for it.

I have truly had the most incredible year of my entire (very short) 24 years of life. I have never been so excited to start on a new journey in 2014. I hope that if you had a bad year, a good year, or a just normal year, that you would learn something, see something, feel something, and put that to use in 2014. Every moment, every season, every year can teach us something that we didn’t know and if you search hard enough for the good, you can find it.

So for 2014, I encourage you to find the good in your life.

Dig it out. You might need a shovel, you might even need a tractor but if you search hard enough you can find it. It’s in there and you want to find it. Joy is in the good, a life worth living is in the good, who you are meant to be is in the good, SO GO FIND IT!

Cheers to the New Years, people! Love you all. Thanks for reading my thoughts this year.
Crissy

Leave a Reply

